Disgruntled at the state of our home office and the barren appearance of our foyer, I decided to finally do something about it.  Originally, the only thing that greeted our guests once they entered our humble abode were two enthusiastically happy homeowners and their equally excited child.  Oh…and two sepia prints of Central Park…

These pictures have been screaming for something to anchor them since the day I nailed them up there.  Today would be their day of reckoning!  I grabbed the old, white, shelving unit that used to belong to my husband’s grandfather from the cluttered office and added a few accessories (mostly from my kitchen cabinets and linen closet)…

Corks make a easy and inexpensive filler, and since I drink a lot of wine…I have a lot of corks!

I needed something to take up some real estate on the bottom shelf and also provide some storage, so I picked up the two wood baskets from the clearance section of Target for $5 each.  These were the right width and length, but a little shorter than I had hoped.  But, at $5 a pop, I couldn’t argue…

Be sure to check out the blog in the next few weeks to see how I’ve updated this, and other parts of my home, for autumn…..

