Since we moved into our house over six years ago, there was one thing (technically two things) that I had planned on replacing from the get-go:  the two blonde-wood, run-of-the-mill bar stools I purchased from Target when I was in college…

But, here they were, over half a decade later, still tucked beneath our kitchen island….putting a damper on my home’s overall now-we-live-in-a-real-home-not-a-college-apartment aesthetic.  That was until I saw these multi-colored paint-dipped milking stools in an email I received from 2modern a month ago.  My first thought was that I could do that same paint treatment to my bar stools.  My second thought was…how was I actually going to achieve that dipped-in-a-vat-of-paint look without actually dipping the stools in a vat of paint.  Here was my solution:

I measured an equal distance halfway down each leg of the bar stool and wrapped them with blue painter’s tape.  In an effort to not waste painter’s tape I conjured up the bright idea to use a shopping bag to block any wayward spraypaint from landing below my tape-line.  A long story short…that was not the easiest solution.  On the second bar stool, I ended up taping plastic bags around the bottom of each leg.  When they finished drying, I peeled the tape off and they looked a little something like this…

Adding a little bit of color and interest to our otherwise monotone kitchen…