A few months ago, we decided to give our great room a good scrubbing.  We removed every piece of furniture and washed the floors, baseboards, etc.  To my daughter’s (and cat’s) overwhelming joy, we unearthed a multitude of “treasures,” from bouncy balls, catnip mice and old lucky charms to the random peanut M & M.  We also discovered that we could either spend the next five to seven hours scrubbing the marks of the walls or just repaint them.  We opted for the latter, because, seriously, how is it possible that there are marks on our walls nearly nine feet high?  Its a mystery.  Long story short, we decided on Iced Cube Silver by Benjamin Moore.

That was our living room circa 2007 (it was the best before picture that I could scrounge up.) The paint color was a mushroom beige.  We had moved in approximately two years before, and I had this whole crush-on-Pottery-Barn thing going on.  I still think Pottery Barn is great, but my decorating style has definitely moved beyond it.  So here is what the rest of our great room looked like four years ago…

Don’t lie…I know you cringed when you saw those fake spider lilies!  I’m not sure what I was thinking with those!  Oh, and that 42 inch flatscreen weighs over 100 lbs.  We still have that one hanging over our mantel, but I swear when its quiet and I’m reading on the couch, I can hear it creak.  I’m not sure what I’d do if it came crashing down one day. Yikes!  Oh, and here was our kitchen in 2007…

And, tada! Here is our kitchen in 2011…

Your eyes do not deceive you…there is not much of a difference.  Other than the wall color, bar stools, computer upgrade (and, of course, better lighting & better picture-taking skills) I would say its exactly the same.  But I promise we haven’t been slacking around here.  We did do a little switch-a-roo with the living room furniture. I added some new pillows and plants and rearranged the bookshelves that flank the fireplace.

And the coffee tables…a $35 find on Craigslist.  I’m still looking for pots big enough to fit the two Mother-in-Law’s Tongue plants on either side of the fireplace.  We are in desperate need of a couch upgrade since ours has a history of Elle’s impressionism masterpieces and cuinary artistry mashed into it.  Here’s another view….

and another…

More on those chairs in a later post. And, yep, that’s my gallery wall…but I’m seriously lacking pictures at the moment (and frames.)  I’ve always loved gallery walls, but I got the idea for an all white from one of my favorite blogs, YoungHouseLove.  Its a work in progress….

Here’s another look at the great room from a different view…

That breakfast nook is pretty high on my list of things to updgrade.  That set is actually a million times better than what it was originally–the bamboo chairs and table used to be a pickled finish with pink seats!!  I painted them an espresso brown and reupholstered them in a red ticking stripe (its the last nod in the room to the old beach cottage look I had going on in there)….but I’ve already got my sights set on an circular marble top table and a more modern chair (yes…I read too much Apartment Therapy!)  And if you read too much Apartment Therapy, well, then you probably know what I’m about to mention next!  If you guessed artichoke pendant light….then give yourself a star!  I’ve actually had my Ikea Knappa pendant light ready to hang for the last five months, but I’m having a hard time selling my husband on its good design qualities…  His reaction to me bringing it home from my trip to Orlando was to move a large shelving unit and  a couple hundred pounds of rubbermaid storage boxes in front of the circuit breaker to deter me in my effort to hardwire it to the ceiling!  Its worked for now, but not for much longer! Oh, did I mention that I need to make my kitchen less sterile looking!  Gah! I didn’t realize how, um, white it was until I actually cleaned it up for these photos!  But I definitely have something in the works for that too!

